2015 Australian Speedway Championships – Doyle goes back to back in Mildura

Artricle From MA | Photo: Judy Mackay

Jason Doyle closed in on his maiden Australian title by taking out round two of the Matt Jones Motorcycles Australian Speedway Solo Championships held in Mildura on Monday night.

The 2015 grand prix qualifier mirrored his form from Gillman on Saturday night, going through the card as the top point scorer dropping only 2 points in his fourth ride.

Doyle met a familiar face in the final in Chris Holder, who qualified with 12-points.

Normality resumed for the 5-times Australian Champion Holder, after his horror Gillman outing where he finished on 8-points.

Joining them in the final was local favourite Justin Sedgmen who finished on 12-points. As well as up and coming Queenslander Tyson Nelson who produced a stylish win in the last chance qualifier over Josh Grajczonek, Max Fricke and Sam Masters.

Though Doyle was chased hard in the final, he never looked like losing, beating out Holder, Sedgmen and Nelson in an all the way victory.

Doyle’s 17-point haul goes along with his 18-points gathered in round one to put him 7 clear over nearest rider Justin Sedgmen on 28.

Chris Holder’s 15 point tally from Mildura puts him right back in contention along with Rohan Tungate and Dakota North who are equal on 22.

Doyle noted that although he was off to a good start to the 2015 Australian Speedway Championship, but said, “there’s two hard rounds to go and everyone’s taking points off each other, it’s anyone’s game.

“I’m just keeping focused and hopefully I can have a good one next round.”

Round 3 of the Championships makes it way to the tight and technical Undera circuit on Wednesday the 7th of January.


1 Jason Doyle 35, 2 Justin Sedgmen 28, 3 Chris Holder 23, 4= Rohan Tungate 22, 4= Dakota North 22, 6 Josh Grajzconek 21, 7 Max Fricke 20, 8 Tyson Nelson 19, 9 Sam Masters 18, 10 Jack Holder 15, 11 Jake Allen 11, 12 Brodie Waters 8, 13=Kieran Sproule 5, 13= Joey Ringwood 5, 15= Josh Coyne 3, Jack Fallon 3.

B Final: Nelson, Grajczonek, Fricke, Masters

A Final: Doyle, Sedgmen, Holder, Nelson

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.