Maxwell completes Sydney Motorsport Park double

Team Suzuki rider Wayne Maxwell (above) capped off a perfect weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park with victory in todays fifth round of the QBE Australian Superbike Championship.

Maxwell, who won both 12-lap races today, has extended his lead in the championship to sit 24 points ahead of Glenn Allerton.

“What a weekend,” Maxwell said. “To win all four races is the ultimate dream come true. The GSXR 1000 was incredible all weekend and handled extremely well. Full credit to the team for giving me such an awesome bike to ride this weekend.

“We have the championship lead but I am not going to get ahead of myself. We need to take it race by race. If we are winning races the rest will come,” he continued.

Finishing second yesterday, Robbie Bugden is sitting third on the championship ladder on 156 points.

Pole-sitter Robbie Bugden was second for the round with Allerton bouncing back from a disappointing result yesterday to round out the podium.

“I had a good first race and finished second to Wayne,” Budgen explained. “In Race 2, I ended up involved in a massive battle and I tried a few things but they didn’t pay off and I ended up fifth. It was still a fantastic weekend for the team. We finished 1-2 in both rounds and I had pole for today’s races.”

Team Honda rider Josh Hook in action at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Team Honda riders Josh Hook and Jamie Stauffer were fourth and fifth for the round with Sydney rider Glenn Scott sixth.

Scott broke through for his first top three finish in today’s opening Superbike race and was the leading privateer for the round.


Aaron Morris claims victory in the Supersport class.

In the Motul Supersport class Aaron Morris took the round victory with two race wins ahead of Aiden Wagner. The Yamaha mounted duo traded blows throughout today’s final 12-lap race with Morris moving into the lead on Lap 9.

“I pretty much led the first race from start to finish but I hit false neutral on Lap 2 in the second race and lost about four spots,” Morris explained. From there I just had to keep chipping away at it. Aiden and I ended up in a good battle but I was able to get him towards the end. I got some good points today and have started to close the gap to Daniel (Falzon),” Morris said.

Morris has reduced the points deficit to Motul Supersport championship leader Daniel Falzon to just eight points in the championship standings.

Supersport podium L-R Aiden Wagner second, Aaron Morris first, Daniel Falzon third.

Matt Walters continued to dominate the Prostock field with another clean sweep of today’s three 9-lap races. He was joined on the podium by fellow New South Welshmen Dustin Goldsmith and Sean Condon.

The next event sees the QBE Australian Superbike Championship head to Darwin’s Hidden Valley Raceway for the September 12-15 ultimate weekend of motorsport, which will include the Australian Supercross Championship.

Results QBE Australian Superbikes – Sydney Motorsport Park
1. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC) 50
2. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) 37
3. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) 35
4. Josh HOOK (NSW) 34
5. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) 34
6. Glenn SCOTT (NSW) 33
7. Linden MAGEE (QLD) 28
8. Beau BEATON (NSW) 26
9. Sloan FROST (NZ) 24
10. Ben HENRY (QLD / WA) 21  …etc

QBE Australian Superbike Championship Standings (After Rd 5 of 7)
1. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC) 180
2. Glenn ALLERTON 156
3. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) 156
4. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) 135
5. Josh HOOK (NSW) 133
6. Glenn SCOTT (NSW) 119
7. Linden MAGEE (QLD) 99
8. Beau BEATON (NSW) 99
9.Phil LOVETT (NSW) 79
10. Sloan FROST (NZ) 71  …etc.

Results Motul Supersport – Sydney Motorsport Park
1. Aaron MORRIS (NSW) 50
2. Aiden WAGNER (QLD) 40
3. Daniel FALZON (SA) 36
4. Michael BLAIR (NSW) 34
5. Chris QUINN (NSW) 31
6. Kyle BUCKLEY (QLD) 28
7. Aaron GOBERT (NSW) 28
8. Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) 26
9. Mohd RAMDAN (MAL) 23
10. Michael LOCKART (NSW) 23 …etc

Motul Supersport Championship Standings
1. Daniel FALZON (SA) 158
2. Aaron MORRIS (NSW) 149
3. Michael BLAIR (NSW) 135
4. Chris QUINN (NSW) 130
5. Aiden WAGNER (QLD) 112
6.Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) 112
7. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC) 109
8. Aaron GOBERT (NSW) 91
9. Kyle BUCKLEY (QLD) 86
10. Michael LOCKART (NSW) 80

Images courtesy of Andrew Gosling/TBG Photo

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.