Matt Moss and Jody Cooper share spoils at Appin MX Nats

Motul Pirelli Suzuki teammates Matt Moss and Cody Cooper have claimed their second 1-2 finish in succession during the sixth round of the MX Nationals Australian Motocross Championship, at Appin in New South Wales on Sunday. The result also marked the team’s third straight overall victory.

Moto one saw Moss ride his RM-Z450 to a controlled victory, leading from the early stages and extending his advantage throughout the 30-minute duration. A mid-pack start forced Moss to fight back in moto two, in which he eventually climbed to third and secured the round victory overall.

Matt Moss: “I’m happy with my form and to win the overall, but I’m really disappointed with that second race. The Motul Pirelli Suzuki team went 1-2 and of course I’m really happy with that, but after spending some time in America where the tracks are a lot more wide-open I struggled a bit in the tight stuff. We’ll keep working on these little things and come out swinging for Hervey Bay.”

Moss has now moved to within four points of the series lead in the second half of the season.

Coming off a victory at Conondale’s fifth round, Cooper also continued his form at Appin, however a number of mistakes in the opening moto resulted in eighth position. He recovered to dominate the second leg, which boosted him to second overall for the round – partly thanks to his five points amassed in Superpole.

Cody Cooper: “My day started off good in winning the Superpole, but it was a little up and down during the motos. It was a good day all in all though for the whole Motul Pirelli Suzuki team and I’m really happy with the result overall. I felt really good in moto two and I was able to race to the victory.”

The reigning two-time New Zealand Motocross Champion is fourth in the standings, setting his sights on a position in the top three and 45 points in arrear of current leader Todd Waters (Motorex KTM Racing).

2013 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship – Round 6

MX1 Results
1. Matt Moss (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 65
2. Cody Cooper (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 63
3. Kirk Gibbs 63
4. Lawson Bopping 54
5. Adam Monea 53
6. Billy Mackenzie 51
7. Jay Marmont 50
8. Jake Moss (Campbell Mining Suzuki) 49
9. Cody Mackie 47
10. Todd Waters 44

MX1 Championship Standings (after six of 10 rounds)
1. Todd Waters 376
2. Matt Moss (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 372
3. Billy Mackenzie 340
4. Cody Cooper (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) 331
5. Lawson Bopping 320
6. Kirk Gibbs 293
7. Adam Monea 285
8. Jake Moss (Campbell Mining Suzuki) 279
9. Tye Simmonds 273
10. Jay Marmont 241

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.