Troy Bayliss Brings it Home for Classic Weekend

Some of the most famous names in the business will be appearing at the Troy Bayliss Classic at Old Bar, Taree this weekend.

The event is hosted by three-time World Superbike Champion Troy Bayliss and boasts a star-studded lineup of the biggest names in Australian motorcycle racing, with motocross, speedway, enduro, dirt track and road racing riders all represented for a day of fun, laughs, and of course, elbows out racing.



Event host Troy Bayliss will be one of the favourites in the main event all-stars race, aboard his familiar KTM 450 SMR, which won last year’s race.


“The town is starting to come alive a little bit and it’s starting to look pretty busy,” Bayliss said.


“(The) biggest name rider this year would be Jared Mees who is the American Grand National Champion.


“He just came back from the Marc Marquez Superprestigio where I competed as well, and he finished second only by half a bike length behind Marc, Bayliss said.


The Old Bar circuit is one of the few remaining oil tracks, a surface which in the right conditions, and to a slick-shod, loaded up and crossed up dirt tracker, approximates the grip level of tar, and the Moto GP Grand Prix winner understands its intricacies as well as anyone. ??There will also be a Legends class, which boasts the likes of former Speedway World Champion Jason Crump, joined by three time Mr Motocross winner Anthony Gunter, and the boss of KTM Australia, former world motocross vice-champion Jeff Leisk.



Enduro and desert racing legend and all-round character Phil Lovett will also be there, to keep the pit banter hilarious and plentiful.

One of the most interesting competitors however will be globetrotting, back flipping, Freestyle Trials World Champion Jack Field.

Bayliss saw Field race in the Industry Class at Moto Expo and was so impressed with the all-round bike skills of the 27-year-old from Byron Bay, that he invited him to compete (Field’s first race on oil track) this weekend.


2015 Troy Bayliss Classic All Stars entry list:

Broc Parkes, Chris Hollis, Chris Vermeulen, Damian Cudlin, Dan Reardon, Henry Wiles, Jack Miller, Jack Field, Jared Mees, Jay Marmont, Joshua Hook, Luke Richard, Marty McNamara, Masatoshi Ohmori, Matt Davies, Michael Kirkness, Paul Caslick, Sammy Halbert, Troy Bayliss, Troy Herfoss


Legends entry list:

Anthony Gunter, Jason Crump, Jeff Leisk, Vaughan Style, Stephen Gall, Phil Lovett, Shawn Giles, Chris Watson, Peter Goddard, Kevin Horton, Damon Buckmaster

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.