Crump leads the legends at Bayliss Classic

Event organiser and namesake of the Troy Bayliss Classic has won the All-Stars main event, while former three-time Speedway World Champion Jason Crump took out the Legends category in front of over 6000 fans at Taree on the weekend.


Crump won two out of four Legends heats and finished second in another to set up the win, leading a field including former national enduro champions like Dave Armstrong and Phil Lovett, Mister Motocross legends Stephen Gall and Anthony Gunter and former Grand Prix motocross stars like Shayne King and KTM Australia General Manager Jeff Leisk.


Crump has nothing but praise for the concept, saying, “It’s just a great day for motorcycle racing in Australia because of the names he gets together.”


In the All-Stars main event, it was Bayliss who was too good for the competition, surging to the front while getting a bit of initial attention from American Sammy Halbert, who crashed 10 laps into the 21-lap race. All eyes then turned to the battle between Troy Herfoss and Michael Kirkness for second and third place where they respectively finished.


Cycle Torque editor Chris Pickett has covered the event in the upcoming February edition of Cycle Torque.


You can also see all of the action from the 2014 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic by downloading the MotorsportsTV App or click on the Livestream button on Facebook.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.