Byrne wins after last lap move on Brookes at Thruxton

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki’s Shane Byrne (above) has equalled the all-time record of 43 race wins in the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship after a committed last lap move on Josh Brookes to take the lead on the final corner of the last lap.

Byrne had taken the lead on the opening lap as the pack reached Allard for the first time, but Alex Lowes was tucked in behind and snatched the lead before the pack reached Village. Josh Waters had a premature end to his race when he crashed out at the same section unhurt after a high-speed crash on the Milwaukee Yamaha.

Tyco Suzuki’s Josh Brookes ahead of team-mate PJ Jacobsen (99) and PR Kawasaki’s Karl Harris (68). Brookes was happy with his second in race one, but disappointed with his race 2 result.

The race resumed with Byrne leading from Lowes, Brookes and Walker, however Walker’s bike was causing problems and he was forced to retire. The chasing pack were scrapping for fourth then throughout the closing stages as the Buildbase BMW pairing of Jon Kirkham and James Westmoreland swapped positions, before Milwaukee Yamaha’s James Ellison closed in and split the pair at the finish after a storming recovery from his fifth row start.

PR Kawasaki claimed a top ten finish with Karl Harris in seventh after maintaining his position ahead of the lone Bathams Honda of Michael Rutter after the retirement of his team-mate. PJ Jacobsen after a mistake on the opening lap when he ran wide at Campbell was ninth and Jakub Smrz completed the top ten for Padgetts Honda.

On the podium after race 2 L-R James Ellison, Shane Byrne and Alex Lowes.

The race resumed where Byrne, Lowes and Ellison looked set to fight it out for the second win of the day. However, the race was red flagged when Karl Harris and Tommy Bridewell crashed out at Club.

Brookes was forced to settle for fourth as Rutter returned to the top five for the Bathams Honda team ahead of Farmer and Chris Walker. Jon Kirkham and James Westmoreland ended the race eighth and ninth for Buildbase BMW. Peter Hickman on the lone Lloyds British GBmoto Honda completed the top ten.

Results – Race 1
1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
2. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki)
3. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
4. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW)
5. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW)
6. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha)
7. Karl Harris (PR Kawasaki)
8. Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda)
9. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki)
10. Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda)

Race 2
1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
3. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha)
4. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki)
5. Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda)
6. Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
7. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki)
8. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW)
9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW)
10. Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda)

1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 91
2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 76
3. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 66
4. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) 51
5. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) 42
6. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) 27

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.