Bugden outguns Allerton to take pole at ASBK Sydney

Team Volvo Suzuki rider Robbie Bugden (above) has rained on Glenn Allerton’s parade, setting the fastest time in today’s QBE Australian Superbike Superpole at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Shaving a quarter of a second off Allerton’s Superpole time from yesterday, Bugden’s time of 1.29. 842, is the fastest lap ever by an Australian Superbike at the iconic Sydney circuit.

“I couldn’t be happier,” Bugden said. “This is my first pole position for the year and it really feels like the hard work is starting to pay off. We set the fastest lap ever by a Superbike here at Sydney Motorsport Park and I think we might have a little bit more speed in us for tomorrow’s races.“

Wayne Maxwell was second quickest, just three one hundredths of a second behind his teammate with championship leader Allerton, a further .346 of a second behind in third.

“I am stoked to end up second fastest and make it a Suzuki 1-2 today,” Maxwell said. “The Dunlop tyres were awesome and they are getting a lot more consistent over race distance which is going to count for Saturday and Sunday.”

Round 5 Supersport Superpole winner, Daniel Falzon.

After finishing a close second in yesterday’s Motul Supersport Superpole Daniel Falzon came out firing in today’s session.

The championship leader was quickest in all three sectors and stormed to pole position with a time of 1:33.160, over half a second quicker than second placed Aiden Wagner and .4 of second quicker than yesterdays time set by Callum Spriggs.

This is the first Superpole victory for Falzon, who will now start from the front row of the grid for all four Supersport races this weekend.

“This is awesome,” Falzon said. “After the disappointment of crashing out of Superpole in Queensland I was determined to do well here this weekend. I am in the best possible position with front row starts for all races and I really hope to finish those races in a similar position.

“We didn’t do a lot to the bike after yesterday, only some minor changes and a few clicks of the suspension,” he added.

Kawasaki rider Matt Walters continued to dominate the Prostock proceedings taking his fourth consecutive pole position. The 20 year old from Cessnock has won four of the five races contested so far and holds a 33-point lead in the championship standings.

Round 4 of the QBE Australian Superbike Championship will be decided at Sydney Motorsport Park tomorrow with Round 5 of the series to conclude the event on Sunday.

Australian Superbike Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park – Rd 5 – Superpole Times
1. Robert BUGDEN (Suzuki) 1:29.842
2. Wayne MAXWELL (Suzuki) 1:29.877
3. Glenn ALLERTON (BMW) 1:30.223
4. Jamie STAUFFER (Honda) 1:30.475
5. Josh HOOK (Honda) 1:31.288
6. Glenn SCOTT (Honda) 1:31.358
7. Phil LOVETT (Kawasaki) 1:31.923
8. Chas HERN (Suzuki) 1:32.920
9. Sloan FROST (NZ) 1:32.923
10. Beau BEATON (Suzuki) 1:33.401
11. Ben HENRY (Suzuki) 1:33.672
12. Linden MAGEE (BMW) 1:34.001
13. Adam SENIOR (Honda) 1:35.545

1. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha) 1:33.160
2. Aiden WAGNER (Yamaha) 1:33.795
3. Michael BLAIR (Yamaha) 1:33.932
4. Aaron MORRIS (Yamaha) 1:34.357
5. Callum SPRIGGS (Yamaha) 1:34.385
6. Kyle BUCKLEY (Yamaha) 1:34.973
7. Ryan TAYLOR (Yamaha) 1:35.058
8. Aaron GOBERT (Kawasaki) 1:35.403
9. Chris QUINN (Yamaha) 1:35.498
10. Mason COOTE (Yamaha) 1:36.244
11. Luke BURGESS (Kawasaki) 1:36.664
12. Michael LOCKART (Kawasaki) 1:37.107
13. Thomas BRYDEN (Yamaha) 1:39.303

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.