Allerton and Wagner pole sitters at Queensland Raceway

NextGen Motorsports Glenn Allerton (above)  has dominated the opening day of Round 1 of the AirRoad Australian Superbike Championship at Queensland Raceway.

Allerton topped both Superbike qualifying sessions before setting the fastest Superpole time of 1.09.682, just .12 of a second quicker than Crazy Dog Kawasaki rider Mike Jones.

The BMW rider also won Race 1 and 2 of the EVO Unlimited class ahead of Kawasaki riders Phil Lovett and Matthew Harding.

“I was really happy with today’s pole,” Allerton said. “This is a track I enjoy and I really like coming here.

“Today I did double duties with the EVO class and I had a lot of fun out there but I am really looking forward to tomorrows longer races.

“It’s going to be an exciting event with the young guys coming through. There is a good bunch of young riders showing their strengths this weekend,” Allerton added.


Local rider Aiden Wagner (pictured above) will start tomorrow’s 17-lap Supersport races from pole position after setting the fastest time in today’s Supersport Superpole.

Wagner’s time of 1.11.781 was two tenths of second quicker than defending champion Daniel Falzon who topped the earlier qualifying sessions.

“That was so close,” Wagner said “It really went down to the wire in those final laps.

“I struggled all morning with bike setup but we made some changes ahead of Superpole and they made all the difference.

“It is awesome to be starting from pole position at my home track. We have worked really hard to prepare for this weekend so it is good to see our hard work is paying off,” Wagner added.

There was plenty of action in the Moto3/125 class with Callum Barker and Lachlan Kavney both winning races and crashing in today’s two 10-lap duels. Kavney won the opening race while Barker was first to the flag in Race 2.

Tomorrow’s on-track action includes Races 1 and 2 for the Australian Superbike and Australian Supersport classes.

Australian Superbike Championship Superpole Results – Round 1 Queensland Raceway
1. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) BMW 1:09.682
2. Mike JONES (QLD) Kawasaki 1:09.743
3. Mathew HARDING (NSW) Kawaskai 1:11.116
4. Linden MAGEE (QLD) BMW, 1:11.217

Australian Supersport Championhip Superpole Results – Round 1 Queensland Raceway
1. Aiden WAGNER (QLD) Yamaha, 1:11.781
2. Daniel FALZON (SA) Yamaha, 1:12.029
3. Callum SPRIGGS (QLD) Yamaha, 1:12.194
4. Sam LAMBERT (NT) Triumph, 1:13.212

Images courtesy Andrew Gosling/TBG Sport

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.