Doyle wins Australian Speedway Championship Opener

Article from MA

2015 Grand Prix Qualifier Jason Doyle has taken out round one of the Matt Jones Motorcycles Australian Speedway Solo Championship in Adelaide on Saturday night.

Doyle was clinical throughout his 5 heat races, dropping only one point in his opening ride to Victorian Dakota North, and eclipsing Leigh Adams longstanding track record in his second ride of the night.

In the final, the New South Welshman made use of his first choice of gate position, comfortably beating home Victorian Justin Sedgmen, Rohan Tungate and Dakota North.

Fellow New South Welshman Rohan Tungate looked superb on the Gillman circuit, he too only dropped one point in his heat races finishing on 14.

Justin Sedgmen was forced into the B-final despite finishing the heat races on a respectable 11-points. There, his efficient gating came to the fore beating a stellar field that included fellow Victorian Max Fricke, Chris Holder and Josh Grajczonek.

Recently recruited Poole Pirate rider Dakota North looked sharp all night, however found it too tough coming from the unfavoured gate three in the final.

The surprise of the night was 2012 World Champion Chris Holder. Holder looked to battle machinery and track conditions on the night, which may have hurt his bid for title number 6.

After his first three heat races the Poole rider was only sitting on three points, a gallant win in his final race was the reprieve Holder needed, pipping his way into the B-final ahead of Queenslander Tyson Nelson.

Doyle put to bed the nightmare 2014 Gillman outing, when leading the final he suffered mechanical gremlins resulting in a horrific crash costing him his first Australian Championship.

“After last year going home upside down I’m pleased with it, it’s a great way to start it off the series.” Said Doyle.

The Australian Speedway series now makes it way Mildura, for round two of the national titles on Monday the 5th of January.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.