Allerton completes Symmons Plains clean sweep

The BMW rider was the quickest man on track in the morning warm-up, before completing his perfect weekend with a dominating win in this afternoon’s final 16-lap race.

Allerton, who took maximum points from the round, topped every Superbike session held over the weekend.

“I am really happy with today’s race it couldn’t have gone much better other than getting the holeshot,” Allerton said. “I was behind Robbie off the start but once I got past him I laid down some good laps and got away early.

“This is what we have all been working for. Hopefully we can keep it together and keep building on today’s result,” he added.

Allerton’s only challenge came from Volvo Group Suzuki’s Robbie Bugden, who took the holeshot before relinquishing the race lead to Allerton mid lap.

L-R Robbie Bugden, Glenn Allerton and Wayne Maxwell

“I got a bit of an average start in Race 2 and both Robbie and Glenn got away,” Maxwell explained. “Then it took me a few laps to set up a pass on Robbie.

“Suzuki provided me with an awesome bike we just didn’t quite have it. We will go back to the drawing board and see if we can get the GSX R onto the top step at the next round.”

Finishing third in today’s race, Bugden is third in the championship standings and acknowledged his team had some work to do in bridging the gap to rival Allerton.

“I got a good start but lacked a little bit of grip early. Glenn is riding really well and he got that little bit of a gap,” Bugden stated. “For Team Suzuki to finish second and third is still a really good result but we came here to win.

“We have a very dedicated team here at Suzuki so we wont’ rest until we bridge that gap to Glenn,” Bugden said.

CM Racing’s Chas Hern endured another horror day, pulling off on the warm-up lap due to an engine failure.

Glenn Allerton takes control in race two.

The teams will now prepare for the next event on the QBE Australian Superbike Championship which will be held at Queensland Raceway on June 14-16.

QBE Australian Superbike Championship Race 2 Results
1. Glenn Allerton (NSW) / NextGen Motorsports / Dynotech / Maxima / BMW, BMW HP4
2. Wayne Maxwell (VIC) / Team Suzuki, Suzuki GSX-R
3. Robert Bugden(QLD) / Team Volvo Group Suzuki, Suzuki GSX-R
4.  Jamie Stauffer (NSW) / Team Honda Racing / Motologic / Vantage, Honda CBR RR
5. Josh Hook (NSW) / Team Honda Racing / Motologic / Vantage, Honda CBR RR
6.  Linden Magee (QLD) / NextGen Motorsports / Dynotech / Maxima / BMW, BMW S-RR
7. Beau Beaton (NSW) / Racers Edge Performance / Suzuki Australia / PTR / Verngraham, Suzuki GSX-R
8. Glenn Scott (NSW) / Team Insure My Ride Racing, Honda CBR RR
9. Ben Nicolson (VIC) / NextGen Motorsports / Dynotech / Maxima / BMW, BMW S-RR 16
10. Ben Henry (QLD) / CUBE Racing / Australian Outdoor Living / Underground Designs, Suzuki GSX-R
11. Phil Lovett (NSW) / Cessnock KTM / Lovett’s Earthmoving / Central Coast Harley, Kawasaki ZX-10R
12. Kurt Sushames (TAS) / Motors Holden Davenport, Suzuki GSX-R
13. Josh King (TAS), Yamaha YZF-R1
14. Sophie Lovett (NSW) / Cessnock KTM / Central Coast Harley Davidson / ARAI, Kawasaki ZX-10R 15
15. Shaun Murfet (TAS), Honda CBR RR
16. Adam Senior (WA) / City Toyota / Silkolene / Radmix / Boreclean / Fine Riders, Honda CBR RR 14

QBE Australian Superbike Championship Points (After Rd 1 of 7)
1. Glenn Allerton, 51pts
2. Wayne Maxwell (VIC), 40pts
3.  Robert Bugden (QLD), 36pts
4. Jamie Stauffer (NSW), 34pts
5. Josh Hook (NSW), 32pts
6. Glenn Scott (NSW), 27pts
7. Ben Nicolson (VIC), 27pts
8.  Beau Beaton (NSW), 26pts
9. Ben Henry (QLD), 24pts
10. Phil Lovett (NSW), 21pts
11. Kurt Sushames (TAS), 18pts
12. Josh King (TAS), 18pts
13. Linden Magee (QLD), 15pts
14.  Sophie Lovett (NSW), 13pts
15. Shaun Murfet (TAS), 13pts
16. Adam Senior (WA), 13pts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.